Sabine advises and represents clients on the entire range of national and international transport and shipping law. Her main focus is handling complex marine casualties where she can offer special expertise in issues of limitation of liability and general average.

She is also very experienced in representing clients in legal disputes connected with multimodal transports, logistic and warehousing contracts as well as cargo handling.  She has been practicing as a dedicated litigator for many years and holds a specialist legal qualification in the law of carriage of goods.

Sabine was involved in the preparatory legislative work for the reform of the German Maritime Code which entered into force in 2013 and regularly gives lectures on different issues of maritime law. She is a co-author of the expected new edition of an important German textbook on maritime law.

As the firm’s „Head of Maritime“ Sabine leads the team of L&P’s shipping lawyers. In this capacity she co-ordinates the firm’s initiatives to enhance its maritime practice.

Frau Dr. Sabine Rittmeister berät und vertritt unsere Mandanten in allen Fragen des nationalen und internationalen Schifffahrts- und Transportrechts. Der Schwerpunkt ihrer Tätigkeit liegt in der Bearbeitung komplexer schifffahrtsbezogener Schadensfälle, wobei sie über besondere Expertise im Recht der Haftungsbeschränkung und Havarie Grosse verfügt.

Zu ihren Interesseschwerpunkten zählen auch die Beratung und Vertretung bei rechtlichen Auseinandersetzungen um Multimodalbeförderungen, Lager- und Logistikverträge sowie Umschlagtätigkeiten. Frau Dr. Rittmeister hat langjährige Erfahrungen als Prozessanwältin und vertritt in- und ausländische Mandanten vor staatlichen Gerichten und Schiedsgerichten.

Sie war an den Arbeiten der Sachverständigengruppe zur Reform des Seehandelsrechts, die im April 2013 in Kraft getreten ist, beteiligt und hält regelmäßig Vorträge zu verschiedenen Fragen des Seehandelsrechts. Sie ist Mitautorin der Neuauflage eines führenden Kommentars zum Seehandelsrecht.

Frau Dr. Rittmeister leitet als Head of Maritime den Bereich Seehandelsrecht. In dieser Eigenschaft koordiniert sie die Initiativen der Kanzlei zur Stärkung der seerechtlichen Praxis.